News:

• April 19, 2024, 08:53:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Fox 35 bolt pattern  (Read 1432 times)

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Fox 35 bolt pattern
« on: September 26, 2016, 03:06:39 PM »
Hi guys,
I am a novice and have a Top Flite Nobler ARF.
I have read with interest the discussions about the ability of a Fox 35 to put the aircraft through the pattern.
I am a little nostalgic and the thought of the Fox with the Nobler appeals to me. I am also a realist and hopefully,  one day, I will be able to fly the pattern.
So, my question is this. Is there an engine, that will have enough power, that has the same bolt pattern as the Fox 35? Allowing me to change out the engine without having to modify the engine mounts.
Thank you in advance
Craig
AUS 87123
"The Ninja"

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Fox 35 bolt pattern
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2016, 03:24:46 PM »
Craig, with all due respect for your optimism, if you're seriously interested in learning the pattern then budget time and money for crashing some planes.  Put the Fox in this plane, secure in the knowledge that by the time you know the pattern it'll be dust, and you'll have virgin mounts in the new one to mount a motor.

The motor mounts in the Noblarf aren't terribly good, so you might want to think in terms of just whacking them off flush with the firewall, maybe backing up the firewall with a layer of ply if indicated (I've never flown anything but hand-me-down Noblarfs  the only Noblarfs I've flown have been hand-me-downs), and using an RC mount.  This'll give you more flexibility for changing motors.  This is also a pretty good repair option after the first time you crash the thing, because the motor mounts seem to be the first thing that comes off.