News:

• April 19, 2024, 03:10:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: AME Norvel 061 R/C  (Read 1760 times)

Dwayne

• Trade Count: (0)
AME Norvel 061 R/C
« on: March 02, 2017, 04:02:20 PM »
Scored a new AME .061 R/C,  planning on putting it on a 1/2a Pathfinder.
Questions please
1-Do I need to find a venturi for it or can I just wire open the carb?
2-I've read extra gaskets help this engine a lot, where can I find some?
And 3- I've also read that the AME needs pressure to run right, can I just tap the backplate and add a nipple?
Thanks guy's
Dwayne

Offline ray copeland

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: AME Norvel 061 R/C
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 06:57:20 PM »
Dwayne, from my experience these are my answers to your questions. #1- the wired carb should work just fine, I have a couple on combat planes that work great like that. #2- I have only had to add an extra gasket one time, can't remember why but most of the time on 1/2a engines you want or need as much compression as you can get, the norvels handle it just fine,. #3 - The Ame version does beg for fuel, a thin bladder of sort is usually best, muffler pressure will work, tapping the backplate adds a lot of steps to starting and getting a good run. My advice is if you want to use the ame , try it first with muffler pressure. My 1/2a pathfinder needed so much nose weight , I tried the .061 , then the .074 and settled on a os max 10. Have not flown mine yet, I believe Eric V. has some that fly really good on a .061. Good luck!!
Ray from Greensboro, North Carolina , six laps inverted so far with my hand held vertically!!! (forgot to mention, none level!) AMA# 902150

Offline Daryll White

• 2018 Supporter
  • New Pilot
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 07:02:31 AM »