• April 26, 2024, 08:32:05 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ares  (Read 3804 times)

Offline Charles Williams

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Ares
« on: March 31, 2016, 07:55:04 AM »
Hi guys (and gals). I am getting ready to start my first C/L build. I purchased an Ares kit off of ebay. I have been building R/C planes for about 40 years, but I'm wanting to start flying control line. I love the lines of the Ares, thats why I got it. This will be my first I-beam wing build. Which leads me to my firsr question.
How or what.......do I use for a wing jig? There is no manual in the kit to give me any ideas.

So any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Offline TigreST

• TigreST
  • Commander
Re: Ares
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 09:10:44 AM »
I'm not sure which kit of the model you have but... Brodak kit this airframe and have a Instruction book for the build.  It is available as a stand-alone item that  may be something of a guide if you like.

http://brodak.com/59-ares-instruction-book.html

There are many mentions of the I-beam wing construction here on the site, just use the search engine at the top left corner.  I looked for a build thread but did not put much time or effort into it.

Here another link related to an I-beam build.

http://stunthanger.com/smf/classic-planes/my-first-'i'-beam/

Tony Bagley
Ontario, Canada

Offline Charles Williams

• New Pilot
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 09:18:13 AM »
Thanks TigreST. I will look into the manual. I dont believe that this is Brodak kit. But I am not completely sure.

The balsa parts in this kit appear to be band sawed, and of incredible quality. The plans have a template to cut out the rib parts, but those are all band sawed and in a seperate sealed bag. There are no marking any where to clue me as to what kit I have.

Offline Dave Royer

• 21 supporter
  • Lieutenant
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2016, 10:50:39 AM »