News:

• March 28, 2024, 08:18:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: What should a Newbie do??  (Read 2990 times)

Offline Chuck Schultz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
What should a Newbie do??
« on: November 22, 2015, 07:02:06 AM »
Well here's my problem. I epoxied the horizontal stab. to the fuselage on my trainer, Sig Skyray yesterday. Got it lined up and level. Made sure the elevator was neutral, epoxied and pinned it in place. Later when I picked it up from the temp. jig I had made I noticed a very thin line of daylight between the rear 1/3 of the stab. and the fuselage. Holy C---! When I pushed the rear pin in to hold it in position It mus have lifted the stab about a mm off the fuselage. Now what to do. 1.cut the stab. from the fuselage & start over,2.
fill in the space with epoxy or 3.leave it as is and see how it flies in the spring ( it's now 29 degrees with several inches of snow on the ground. Also remember I'm a Total Newbie and I foresee many a crash in the learning curve! I might not even paint it because of the expected crashes and damage.Thanks for any ideas.
Chuck %^@

Offline Chancey Chorney

• Captain
Re: What should a Newbie do??
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 09:23:31 AM »
If you had used epoxy, I have heard and read that you can carefully use a heat gun to soften it up. This may be worth a look to see if you can get it to move to the right place or remove it and restart. Also by your description, it is very minimal and will probably fly just fine as I am sure there have been many things like this happen and they had flown fine. You may just need a slight bit of down elevator to keep flying level to make up for the lifted stab. I am no expert and I am sure others will chime in here. These answers are things I would try if it were me.

Offline Chuck Schultz

• New Pilot
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 11:54:21 AM »