News:

• March 29, 2024, 12:53:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DPC Scientific Hellcat & OK Cub .049R  (Read 5665 times)

Offline GallopingGhostler

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
DPC Scientific Hellcat & OK Cub .049R
« on: August 24, 2016, 12:04:26 PM »
Dane Martin freely sent me a prized gift a few days ago, a prized OK Cub .049R engine. Speaking about his kind and free willing spirit, this is not a good condition used engine, it is new! For an OK Cub, this long stroke engine has extremely good compression. It is the reed valve engine, which I have heard is actually a decent performing engine. Comparing to the Cox .049 tank backed engine, this engine has the same bolt pattern, thus it is a direct drop in.

Many thanks, Bro. Dane. I have attached photos of a DPC, Farmington, NM retro-kit I've been working on for the past 2 years. It sat on a shelf for a year. I was undecided what engine should I use to power it. Now, I have a period correct engine for it. Although the Walt Musciano kit was released by Scientific in 1964, OK Cubs were still being sold. Many earlier Scientific 1/2-A CL kits show an OK Cub .049A on the plans. Scientific shows a Cox Babe Bee.

Why does this kit have a special place in my heart? 50 some years ago, I got the kit as a birthday gift when I was in 4th or 5th grade, mid 1960's. That had a Cox .020 Pee Wee. It was my first (but not last) experience with silkspan to cover the wing. Prior to it I built several rubber powered stick and tissue kits, so was already familiar with covering. I built it and painted it with dark blue dope. We may see the reliving of the battle of the Philippine Sea soon. ~>

Offline goozgog

• Captain
Re: DPC Scientific Hellcat & OK Cub .049R
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 02:41:07 PM »
George, That looks great!  

I was unaware of that Scientific design
with the vacuum formed deck. It was the sort of thing
that I loved as a kid. Opening the kit box and seeing